Week 9 of 12: Mental Toughness and Fun Stuff

September 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

2012 Mr. IllinoisI read a blog post today by Tammy White.  She described how frustrating it is when life gets in the way of training and the mental battles that accompany interruptions.

I’ve had similar concerns lately.  In my last post I had pictures comparing my body at the start of this 12 week program and at the 8 week mark.  I had more mental stress about showing my body to the world in that post than I did on day one, but I did it anyway.  I think the reason is because I’m seeing and feeling changes that the camera just doesn’t capture, which is frustrating.  That, and I have a very specific image in my mind of what my body will look like in the future.  I have to remind myself that I am a work in progress.  Progress takes time.  I have time, so I keep doing the work.

Another mind mess is that my right knee keeps swelling.  I shot my first 18 holes of golf, ever, last May, at the TPC Scottsdale.  I must have twisted the hell out of it because it hasn’t been the same since.  I keep thinking that it’s not that bad and it will heal, but it hasn’t.  I have an appointment to get it checked Monday.  I’m hoping it’s not serious, is easily fixed, and I can keep training.  I’m concerned, it affects my workouts, and it’s stressful.

We all have times of doubt in life.   We reach points in time when we have to decide to stop, backtrack, change direction, or press forward.  Pause, evaluate, adjust, and proceed.

Enough of that!

Two big, and positive events happened for me this last week.  One, I joined a gym!  I decided to join Impact Fitness in Bradley, IL.  Impact is the home of Mr. Natural Illinois, Mike Neumann.  He conducts a group training class there that is highly recommended by Darin Steen, the author of the system I am currently using.fitness-center-bradleyil-impact-fitness-header

I had a chance to talk to Mike recently.  He asked me,”Why did you decide to join our gym?”  We got interrupted and I didn’t really get to answer but I had a very distinct reason.  I joined Impact Fitness because that’s where the bodybuilders are!  There are lots of places in Kankakee to work out but the people who are serious about bodybuilding go to Impact Fitness.  It seems like everyone has a plan for an upcoming bodybuilding show and they talk about it openly.  I enjoy the energy there.  I feed on it!  Hang around people you want to be like, right?

Darin Steen @ Natural Universe

The other big thing that happened was that I attended my first bodybuilding show! (as a spectator of course)  It was the INBA PNBA Natural Universe.  Darin Steen was competing in the Open Mens class against some stiff competition.  He took 4th place and qualifies to compete in the INBA PNBA Natural Olympia in November

It was all very exciting and inspiring!  I was impressed with the way the competitors interacted with each other on stage and off stage.  Everyone was personable and friendly.  They were complimentary, respectful, and kind to each other.  Some people were old friends and other people met for the first time.  It was a pleasant atmosphere of good people doing what they love to do!  I will be going to more shows nearby before the season is over.  My interest is sparked!  If you’ve never been to a bodybuilding show I highly recommend it.  It’s high energy and fun!

This weeks results:

My calorie reduction plan is working well.  In the last two weeks I’ve lost 7 pounds of scale weight.  That seems aggressive to me so I will check my body fat next week and see if I’m losing fat or muscle.  I may have to add some calories.  This isn’t a race.  Also, my waist has reduced by another half inch to 42.5 inches.

For more information about the system that I am following go to fatlosslifestyle.com

 Fat Loss Lifestyle System by Darin Steen

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week 9 of 12: Mental Toughness and Fun Stuff at 70USD.

meta

