Week 5&6 of 12: Small changes

August 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

Andreas Cahling at 60

The results from week five showed no measurable results.  I have the same scale weight as 6 weeks ago and my waist is still 44 inches at the navel.  No more body fat changes either.

I wasn’t too worried about it but when week six was the same I panicked!  I was doing the same things as when I started but my body had stopped changing!  If I had hired a personal trainer I would have figured out the problem right away but I’m not in a position to do that right now.  I had to find out on my own what was going on.

I decided that the answers have to be in the basics.  I looked closely at what I was doing for diet and exercise.  Luckily I have been keeping a journal of what I’m eating and what I’m doing.  What I discovered is that I have not been in a caloric deficit.  I was tracking how much protein I was eating and combining carbohydrate with those proteins but I wasn’t keeping an accurate calorie count.  Fats were adding several hundred calories per day to what I thought I was eating.  An extra egg yolk, a pat of butter, a couple teaspoons of mayonnaise, and a drop of oil add up to quite a few calories.  So, for the first month my body was transforming by building lean body mass and burning fat but now I have reached a point of stasis.  It’s time to cut calories!

Counting calories can be tedious and time consuming.  That’s why everyone hates it!  I needed a tool to simplify the process.

I ran across an article by Tom Venuto on his blog at http://www.burnthefatblog.com/ 

The article described how it is much easier to plan your meals than to track them.  When you TRACK meals, you have to log what you ate and then figure out how many calories it contained and if it had the nutrient balance you need.  When you PLAN meals you figure out what you are going to eat and then all you have to do is eat it!  Much simpler!  He even provided the spreadsheet I was looking for, downloadable, for FREE!  I definitely like FREE!  Here is the link to the article so you can grab the spreadsheet for yourself, http://www.burnthefatblog.com/the-disastrous-diet-diary-mistake.php  Just click on the picture of the spreadsheet and it will automatically download to your computer.

Using some other calculators I found on http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/bbinfo.php?page=NutritionCalculators Bodybuilding.com Information Motivation Supplementation

I estimated how many calories I need to loose weight and settled on 2,200 to 2,300 calories per day with a ratio of 40% protein, 40% carbohydrate, and 20% dietary fat.  I’ll check that against future results and adjust as necessary.  I feel good about this!

Supplements

This is probably a good time to talk about supplements.  I’m only taking a couple that are outside of my normal diet.

Whey protein:  This is really a food source and not a supplement but it’s not food I had eaten in the past.  I use it because it’s a low calorie source of protein and because there are so many health benefits to eating it!  I read a little eBook by Will Brink called Fifty Shades of Whey.  It taught me a lot about this amazing food and as of right now it’s FREE as a Kindle book! http://www.amazon.com/Fifty-Shades-of-Whey-ebook/dp/B008RANHYG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1377010569&sr=8-1&keywords=50+shades+of+whey

L-Ornithine: An amino acid that supports the pituitary gland when taken with whey protein.   (see Week 1)

Creatine Monohydrate:  Extensive research proves tremendous health benefits to taking creatine.  It supports muscle growth and helps prevent loss of muscle as we age.  Will Brink has some great videos on YouTube and articles on http://www.brinkzone.com/ about creatine.  

Multi-Vitamin:  Just to fill any gaps in my diet.

That’s it!  Nothing fancy in that list.

Next week I plan to have some sort of measurable result to report.  In the mean time I started a BodySpace account if you want to check it out.  http://bodyspace.bodybuilding.com/70usd/

For more information about the system that I am following go to fatlosslifestyle.com

 Fat Loss Lifestyle System by Darin Steen

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week 5&6 of 12: Small changes at 70USD.

meta

